DCU makes me feel Unique!

I am Rayssa Marinho; I come from the northeast of Brazil, the state of Pernambuco. I am 23 years old and I have been attending the Master`s programme in Comparative Literature in Dublin City University.

Rayssa

Choosing the university is one of the most important steps for a good formation. It is not only about the quality of the lectures but also the structure that the university provide to its students. Dublin City University has a particularly strong research record as well as being in the top 4% of universities worldwide. DCU is a multicultural university and you have all facilities on campus. The uniqueness of DCU is being able do and to be. It goes beyond the lectures; the university is structured to take care of your mind, your body and your soul. Here we have an interfaith centre and there we are able to practice our spirituality and meet people from very different backgrounds.

When I met DCU`s international office team, I felt that they wanted me there. I have never felt like I am only one more student, all the staff and professors treat us with such kindness that makes me feel very much at home. That is also one of the loveliest things about DCU and Ireland. Irish people are warm and the country is so full of culture! I am delighted with the university and I have been enjoying my journey in DCU very much with the assurance that I chose the right university.

Besides, Ireland is a country that has produced some of the greatest writers of the worldwide literature. The MA in Comparative Literature at Dublin City University provides a singular syllabus which fulfils my academic needs and enables me to have a better understanding of the theory as well as the methodological tools to apply the theory in practice. What I most like about my course is that through Comparative Literature we can understand humanity through art and highlight the uniqueness of each culture. Comparative literature proposes us to overcome geographic and linguistic barriers.

Leave a Reply

